Skip to content

Real food.

July 19, 2009
springtime in Mendocino

springtime in Mendocino

I’m lucky, I guess. I grow lots of my own vegetables and herbs (the tomatoes have been great!) and I buy the rest of what I need at the farmers market or a good food co-op (Corners of the Mouth, in Mendocino village, or the Ukiah Natural Foods Co-op in Ukiah), or occasionally Harvest Market. I would get chickens but I’ll be moving by the end of the year, most likely, and don’t want to subject chickens to the move. But when I settle again, look out, Farm City!

Why go to so much trouble for food? Why not just truck on down to the grocery store, or even simpler, McDonald’s?

Answering that is what this blog will be about.

From → Books, Food

11 Comments
  1. I think I saw you linked on another blog…maybe Kelly the Kitchen Kop? Ft. Bragg is only an hour away! Good to know you’re here.

    • Jeanmarie permalink

      Ah, that’s probably it. I’ve done a guest post or two for her, more in the works.
      My boyfriend is driving back from Ukiah right now!
      Cheers!

    • Jeanmarie permalink

      And also, I love your site! Just glanced at it so far. You’re way ahead of me…

  2. I hope this isn’t a creepy question to ask, but do you live in Mendocino County? I live in Ukiah and I’m always excited to meet people who have a similar passion for real food.

    • Jeanmarie permalink

      Not creepy (you look like a nice person ), and yes, I live outside Fort Bragg. It’s nice to “meet” you! How did you find my tiny blog? As you can see I haven’t been too active lately, though I’ve been working on several posts. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Is there no end to all the WAPF women writing blogs?

  4. Congrats on your new blog

    • Jeanmarie permalink

      Thanks! I still have so much to learn and haven’t put in enough time on it yet.

  5. Welcome to the world of blogging, Jeanmarie! I love the simple, clean look you have here, and I already know I love your writing!

    Kelly

    • Jeanmarie permalink

      Thanks, Kelly! It’s an honor to have you as my first comment! Now if I could only find out how to make the comments visible; I had to look on my dashboard. Just what I needed, a new skill to master!
      Jeanmarie

Like what you read? Please comment, I'd love to hear from you.

