Skip to content

Books to Remember

January 11, 2010

When I was in about fifth grade, I had a year-long assignment to keep track of all the books I read. I filled a brown, lined notebook with tomes such as Gone With the Wind, The Black Cauldron, The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe, and dozens of others. I got an “A” on the project, but was shocked to discover my teacher had thrown out my notebook! I’ve been meaning to recreate that list ever since. (Hah!) For now, here are some books on nutrition and health that taught me a lot, had a great impact on me, or that I can otherwise recommend. In no particular order:
Nourishing Traditions, by Sally Fallon and Mary Enig
Eat Fat, Lose Fat, by Sally Fallon and Mary Enig
Wild Fermentation, by Sandor Katz
Nutrition and Physical Degeneration, by Weston A. Price, DDS
The Primal Blueprint, by Mark Sisson
Primal Body, Primal Mind, by Nora Gedgaudas
Full Moon Feast, by Jessica Prentice
Beyond Pritikin, by Ann Louise Gittleman
Fat: An Appreciation of a Misunderstood Ingredient, With Recipes, by Jennifer McLagan
Real Food, by Nina Planck
Truly Cultured
The Joy of Pickling
Sugar Blues, by William Dufty
Diet for a Small Planet (had a great impact then, no longer recommended)
The Unknown Story of Milk, by Ron Schmid
Traditional Foods Are Your Best Medicine, by Ron Schmid

From → Books

One Comment
  1. I keep a list of all the books I read. However, I graduated from a notebook to a Word doc years ago. I see it as an intellectual diary, much more interesting to look back on than the emotional diary.

Like what you read? Please comment, I'd love to hear from you.

