Skip to content

Real Food Bloggers

June 3, 2010

It’s embarrassing how late I am to put this up—did I mention I’m working full time now and caring for dogs, goats, chickens, a garden and a compost pile?—but on Mothers Day my story on “Mothers of Real Food Blogosphere” was published on DailyFinance.com, where I’m an editor by day (and night). It’s a really good business and finance news site, by the way, so please check it out. It’s aimed at Main Street rather than Wall Street, but we’ll help you understand the shenanigans of the latter.

Jenny, AnnMarie, Kelly, Kimberly and Kimi

Jenny, AnnMarie, Kelly, Kimberly and Kimi of RFMN

It was such a pleasure getting to know the Real Food Media Network bloggers that I spotlighted in my story: Kelly the Kitchen Kop, Ann Marie Michaels (better known as Cheeseslave), and Jenny McGruther of Nourished Kitchen. These ladies are a real inspiration to me. If you haven’t sign up for Jenny’s How to Cook Real Food e-course, I’m pretty sure you could still do it. Once a week for 12 weeks, she’s sending videos and downloadable written materials to teach the basics of nutrient-dense, real-food cooking and eating.

So far, so good, after the first lesson that debuted June 1, but of course I expected nothing less from Jenny, whose monthly recipe cards I had already subscribed to. While I’m not a newcomer to these ideas, which I first got into when I stumbled on Nourishing Traditions, the groundbreaking cookbook and nutrition course by Sally Fallon and Mary Enig, PhD, at the Berkeley Whole Foods Market five or six years ago, I am always looking to hone my skills, expand my knowledge and expertise and stay motivated to eat right.

From → Books, Food, Real Food, WAPF

5 Comments
  1. Dorae permalink

    I have been on the New Atkins diet for about 3 months. I have not read the Primorial Diet, but what I have read about it, with the exception of the first two weeks (induction phase in the Atkins diet) the 2 diets are very similar. Plenty of protein in the form of meat, eggs and nuts and seeds, a healthy amount of vegetables and dairy (mainly cheese) and small but daily amounts of fruits, preferably berries. Also good fats are an important ingredient, and they recommend staying away from grain products, sugars, aspertame and nitrates. While there are times I miss some of my favorite carbohydrate foods, I am rarely hungry, and that is easily satisfied with a few nuts or a piece of cheese until meal time. It seems to me this primorial diet is just the Atkins diet in a different package.

    • Jeanmarie permalink

      Hi Dorae,
      Yes, there are a lot of similarities, but the Primal Blueprint or various versions of the Paleo diet are guided by different principles to arrive at a similar, compatible place. I say, whichever version is working for you, is great. I read them all but don’t feel the need to adhere strictly to one author’s view like it’s the holy truth. All are attempts to move forward. Atkins accepted sugar substitutes, but he did advise mixing them so as to minimize the amount of any given one you’d need to use. They may work better (have better flavor, need less sweetener overall), when mixed rather than relying one one source. That makes sense to me, but I also avoid things like sucralose and aspartame. I use a little stevia and a little xylitol now and then, and I’ve used inulin before. I think it’s best of all to lose the sweet tooth, and using any sweetener probably makes that harder to do. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I’ve been wanting to check out his cookbook for a while – thanks for recommending it!

    • Jeanmarie permalink

      You’re welcome. I haven’t had time to try as many of the recipes as I’d like, but we keep it right on the kitchen counter for inspiration!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Link Love « Kind Food Farm

Like what you read? Please comment, I'd love to hear from you.

