Skip to content

Link Love

December 27, 2011

Keeping up with the Internet

Apple’s Safari browser has a neat little feature, Reading List, that lets you click on a page to add it to a running list of things to read. So you don’t have to keep that page open until you have time to read it. This should keep my computer from slowing down periodically, because I typically have dozens of windows and tabs open that I’m meaning to read, and I’ve already maxed out my computer’s memory. It’s also useful for making a link love list.

Please check out the latest giveaway on Cheeseslave, one of my go-to blogs for recipes and real food news. This time it’s for the Norwex microfiber mop system, and I would really love to win this one—and if you saw my floors, you’d understand. I love microfiber cloths and use them all the time, but the microfiber mops you can buy around here just have thin, cheap bits of microfiber attached to a typical sponge mop. By all reports, Norwex is far superior. AnnMarie of Cheeseslave is now a distributor, so if I don’t win the giveaway, someday I’ll buy one from her anyway. Maybe you’ll win! You’re welcome.

Kelly the Kitchen Kop had some great links to share, including one to an NPR story on Who Are the Young Farmers of Generation Organic? (Ungainly title.) You already know I love tales of going back to the farm. Kelly recently posted an interview with Chris Kerson, the marketing manager of Chaffin Family Orchards, and a second interview with Chris on why their olive oil is so special.

The third of my trifecta of favorite Real Food blogs, Nourished Kitchen, has me mightily tempted with a recipe for Grain-Free Shortbread with Salted Caramel. “Shortbread” and “salted caramel” are the magic words. I haven’t tried this recipe yet, but I will. I use this site as a resource for recipes and inspiration all the time. I also have some of Jenny’s great recipe cards. AnnMarie, Kelly and Jenny all teach online courses on making Real Food at home. They are the best. I did an early blogpost on them for Mother’s Day last year, linking to a story I did for DailyFinance.com.

A new social media site I’m finding useful is Goodreads.com. Follow the link at the bottom of this page to see how to rate and recommend your favorite books and get recommendations from others.

Videos

Now for some videos: I’m currently watching Fluoride Deception, Part 1. I have Christopher Bryson’s book, The Fluoride Deception, though I haven’t read it yet, so this is a quick shortcut. I’m also partway through Dr. Terry Wahls’ TED talk on Minding Your Mitochondria. That’s a different approach to nutrition. From what I’ve seen so far, it’s quite compelling.

If you care about where your food comes from, and the farmers who make it happen, please check out the Occupy Wall Street Farmers March. And share the video!

Christmas may be past, but Jingle Bells with baby goats is good for a giggle anytime. As is kitten massage therapy. Ain’t YouTube wonderful?

Leave a Comment

Like what you read? Please comment, I'd love to hear from you.

